Skip to main content

People

Faculty and Research Staff

Mansoor Sheik-Bahae

Photo: Mansoor Sheik-Bahae

Distinguished Professor

Director, Multidisciplinary Approached to Radiation Balanced Lasers (MARBLe)
Email: 
msb@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-2080
CV: 
download PDF

Richard I. Epstein

Photo: Richard Epstein

Research Professor

CEO of Thermo-Dynamics Films (TDF), Albuquerque NM
Email: 
richard.epstein@gmail.com
Personal Website
 
Lab Website
 

Alexander (Alex) Albrecht

Photo: Alex Albrecht

Assistant Research Professor

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Email: 
alex2@unm.edu

Eric Lee

Photo: Eric Lee

Research Scientist III

Email: 
erlee@unm.edu

Zhou Yang

Photo: Zhou Yang

Postdoc I

Department of Physics and Astronomy, OSE Program
Email: 
zyang01@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277 1284

Graduate Students

Stefano Bigotta

Photo: Stefano Bigotta
Email: 
bigotta@df.unipi.it
Research Areas: 
Laser Cooling of Rare Earth Doped Solids, Spectroscopy

Mohammad Reza Ghasemkhani

Photo: Mohammad Reza  Ghasemkhani
Email: 
mrghasem@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277 3301
Office: 
LAB177
Research Areas: 
Laser Cooling in Solids

Nathan Giannini

Photo: Nathan Giannini
Email: 
ngiann01@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277 3301
Office: 
LAB 177
Research Areas: 
Nonlinear Optics, Semiconductor Photonics

Aram Gragossian

Photo: Aram Gragossian
Email: 
agragoss@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277 8497
Office: 
LAB 179
Research Areas: 
Research Area: High Harmonic Generation (HHG), Scintillator Dynamics

Junwei Meng (Tiger)

Photo: Junwei (Tiger)  Meng
Email: 
jmeng@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277 3301
Research Areas: 
Solid-State Laser Cooling

Anca Mocfanescu

Photo: Anca Mocfanescu
Email: 
amocofanescu@rics.bwh.harvard.edu
Research Areas: 
Laser Cooling of Rare Earth Doped Solids, Nonlinear Optics

Name Removed by Request

Photo: Name Removed by Request
Research Areas: 
Nonlinear Optics, Laser Cooling in Semiconductors, Semiconductor Spectroscopy

Saeid Rostami

Photo: Saeid Rostami
Email: 
saeid.rostami@gmail.com
Phone: 
(505) 277 3301
Office: 
LAB 177
Research Areas: 
Nonlinear Optics, Laser Cooling

Mahendra Man Shakya

Photo: Mahendra Man  Shakya
Email: 
mahendra@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-8497
Research Areas: 
Ultrafast High Intensity Interactions, High Harmonic Generation

Ed Soto

Andreas Stintz

Photo: Andreas Stintz
Email: 
andreas@chtm.unm.edu
Phone: 
505-272-7548
Research Areas: 
MBE Growth, Nanofabrication

Nima Vadie

Venkatesh Vankipuram

Photo: Venkatesh Vankipuram
Email: 
venkat@unm.edu
Research Areas: 
Nano-Optics

Keith Wyman

Phone: 
(505) 277 1284
Office: 
OPSLs for Sodium GuideStars

Alumni

Shahed Azarian

Daniel Bender

Photo: Daniel Bender
Email: 
dabende@sandia.gov
Phone: 
505-845-1239
Office: 
Bldg. 897 Rm. 4101 MS-1423, 1515 Eubank SE , Albuquerque, NM 87123
Research Areas: 
Ultrafast Optics, Near-Field Scanning Microscopy

Mark Fleharty

Shawn Hackett

Photo: Shawn Hackett
Email: 
shawn.hackett@kirtland.af.mil
Phone: 
(505) 277 1284
Research Areas: 
OPSLs for Sodium GuideStars

Michael P. Hasselbeck

Photo: Michael Hasselbeck
Email: 
mph@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-0590

Toshi Hirayama

Photo: Toshi Hirayama
Email: 
peiinaz@hotmail.com
Research Areas: 
Ultrafast Optics

Chad Hoyt

Photo: Chad Hoyt
Email: 
hoycha@bethel.edu
Research Areas: 
Laser Cooling of Rare Earth Doped Solids, Atom Optics

Brook Jilek

Photo: Brook Jilek
Email: 
st.brook@gmail.com
Research Areas: 
Ultrafast Optics

Chia-Yeh Li (Pablo)

Photo: Chia-Yeh (Pablo)  Li
Email: 
cyli@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277 1284 (lab)
Research Areas: 
THz Spectroscopy

Seth Melgaard

Photo: Seth Melgaard
Email: 
sdmelga@sandia.gov
Research Areas: 
Solid-State Laser Cooling, Near Field Imaging

Wendy Patterson

Photo: Wendy Patterson
Email: 
wendy5@unm.edu
Research Areas: 
Laser Cooling: in Rare-Earth Doped Solids, High Power OPOs

Denis Seletskiy

Photo: Denis Seletskiy
Email: 
denisel@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-3301, 277-8497
Research Areas: 
Nano-Optics, Photonic Crystals, Laser Cooling

Chengao Wang (Puff)

Photo: Chengao (Puff) Wang
Email: 
puffwang@hotmail.com
Phone: 
(505) 277 1284 (lab)
Research Areas: 
Nonlinear Optics, Solid-State Lasers, Optically Pumped VCSELs

Joachim Zeller

Photo: Joachim Zeller
Email: 
Joachim.Zeller@physik.uni-karlsruhe.de
Research Areas: 
Carrier Dynamics in Semiconductors, Ultrafast Optics